TinaCortina's Blog

Musings of a Tgirl

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Hi Girls

Well it’s the shortest day and Winter starts (only) today.  Christmas is fast approaching, we have family arriving tomorrow onwards and the (minor) road outside is almost impossible.  The 4-wheel drives are ok and some of the smaller front wheel drive cars manage the local hilly bits but I just veered off dangerously and after parking ‘outside’ our housing area and walking the mile back up, watched a car struggle, stop half way up,  then just about make it up the hill.

Who can believe it after last year being the most snow in years?  Dec 2009 was bad enough and then it came again in January, but we’ve probably topped that this month.  Lets hope it clears up as the ‘parents’ arrive Friday and my pregnant daughter and hubbie.  Maybe even an aged (but well-loved) Aunt.  I don’t fancy the prospect of getting their luggage (and presents!) the last mile.  And next week on Wednesday we are flying from Gatwick for 3 days in the real snow. 

As my wife would tell me, there is so much organisation to Christmas and the travel situation is causing a lot of worry.  I have to feel so sorry for those flying off with loved ones or to meet loved ones for Christmas and New Year.  Who would fancy being stuck at the airports for 24 hours which is happening at the moment?  The good news is that it is going to get warmer and wet.  The bad news is that this will not be until Boxing Day.  So until then we will worry and hope!!

Well I hope you are all enjoying your own preparations for Christmas, where-ever you are. 

Tina has done her shopping ~ some on the internet, but also had a day out shopping a month ago.  It’s just a shame she has only one person to buy for!!    She had a fun Christmas meal last Wednesday at the Fox & Hounds in Theale (54 ladies + one ex-tranny in black tie!).   All very pleasant;  lovely to see some old friends (albeit all too briefly in some cases), but generally just a nice meal and a good chat with friend Davina.  My thanks to Daryl (?) the manager, but most especially to Lorraine Milford.  She really is a splendid organiser and I was intrigued to hear of the history of the monthly Theale meal (3rd Wednesday of the month, without fail!!), two previous locations but already 7 years I think at the F&H.  Survived several change of ownerships too, lol!  It is nice to know that we are welcome.  That was last Wednesday.  I had another very nice evening dressed Friday night, a few photos in front of the Christmas tree (see above, lol).  Then Tina has to go away, at least physically until the new Year, even if she will make an appearance in spirit Christmas Eve to swop pressies with a dear wife.  Lots of nice stuff to give, nice to receive.

The blog has been going a few years now and I guess there is an exact same blog 12 months ago.  But heh, while I know that not everyone believes in Christmas, it is a real opportunity to get together with the family and celebrate something together.  My kids love Christmas.  As a ‘child’ and with my parents, which includes FIL and aged Aunt if she comes, I love Christmas, past AND present.  Christmas with the family.  That is the joy of Christmas.

Quick thoughts for friends that are not or haven’t been well.   As those that follow my blogs will know, Fabuliss has been part of my life for the last couple of years.  These have been run with boundless energy and enthusiasm by Linda and Natasha.  Linda hasn’t been well and the last couple of meets have been cancelled.  Well I like to think not cancelled but postponed!!  Linda, I do think of you often.  I hope treatment is going well and we will have the opportunity to meet early in the New Year.  Likewise my friend Barbara in Folkestone.  Always a trooper.  Never one to let anything get to her cheerfulness and general optimism about everything.  Barbara, thank you.  I owe you a lot and I hope also to see you soon.

To one and all, a very Merry Christmas and Health and Happiness for 2011.

And thinking of Bing Crosby his ‘White Christmas’ and many other famous oldies, let me finish with ‘may it not snow, may it not snow, may it not snow’.

Hugs TinaCortina xx

December 21, 2010 - Posted by | musings of a tgirl | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I’m with you there Tina, Xmas and families are so much fun – lots of games and repartee. I hope you all have a wonderful time.

    Hugs and Merry Xmas, Anna x

    Comment by Anna Arendt | December 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Have a great one yourself Anna.

      ..and I’ll drink to 2011 (in moderaton of course!

      Hugs Tina xx

      Comment by TinaCortina | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  2. Very nice picture. The weather here has been extreme also. Not so much snow but lots of rain and wind. Hope all your family and friends can make it for Christmas as that is what the holiday’s are all about.

    Hope you have a very Merry Christmas and a happy new Year.

    Hugs
    Susan

    Comment by susanmiller64 | December 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Susan

      Looks like weather is getting a little better and everyone expecxted tomorrow.

      Have a great time yourself, whatever you are doing xx

      Comment by TinaCortina | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  3. Lovely post, so glad you are all prepared for Christmas Tina. I wish you and your wife a very happy Christmas. – Enjoy the holidays xxxx

    Helen

    Comment by helen chapel | December 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Helen

      All set now I think. December has been so busy trying to get evrything sorted. Hell when you work for yourself isn’t it?

      Have a great one yourself and I look forward to hearing more from you in 2011

      Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  4. You are right about Christmas Tina…..not everyone believes in celebrating that festival. I am glad you have everything under control at home and that you can now relax (?)
    Love

    Shirley Anne xxx

    Comment by Shirley Anne | December 22, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Shirley Anne

      I put that bit in just for you!! Thanks for reading and passing a comment.

      I wish you and yours all the best.

      Hugs Tina xx

      Comment by TinaCortina | December 23, 2010 | Reply

  5. I always read your posts Tina. Shame you don’t write so often though. I’ve been trying to figure out which bit you mean…LOL
    Love

    Shirley Anne xxx

    Comment by Shirley Anne | December 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Shirley Anne

      I wish I could find the time and the creativity to be as prolific as you, but I guess I spend less time as Tina and this is after all mostly a Tina blog. Still I am working up towards my 100th blog, maybe something to aim for in 2011.

      Thanks for reading

      Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | December 28, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hey Tina
    Just looking you up to hear what’s new? Hope your OK? How you doing?

    Hugs
    Helen xx

    Comment by Helen Chapel | January 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment