TinaCortina's Blog

Musings of a Tgirl

My Dad

Time for re-evaluating life and things that are important.

My Dad (87 years old) is on his very last legs.  I said goodbyes on Monday.  He went downhill last night;  My Mum is being brave.  No doubt the family will be together very soon.  I have some lovely memories, heartened by a fantastic family, my lovely wife, my 3 kids and their partners/husband, one beautiful grandson Joshua, my Dad’s great Grandson, whose christening he attended back in November, and who will be one year old on Monday.

I am not religious but I believe that Life replaces Life, our Joshua will be with us hopefully for a long time, and will be in all our hearts for all time, hopefully helping to assuage my grief.

I may not pray for my Dad in the traditional way but I think of him lots and have much to thank him for.  I watched the program last night on ‘yesterday’ about Chris Tarrant’s Dad (awarded the MC).  My Dad joined the RAF, flew Lancaster’s in 44/45 in Africa/ Asia.  My father-in law who thankfully is still with us, joined the Marines Pacific Fleet, volunteered at 17.  We have a lot to thank them for.  They were all heros.  Men and Women, all.

And they brought us up.   I hope I am a decent person with decent morals. i think my kids are wonderful with decent morals.  It all goes back to our parents.

Dad, I love you.

Hugs Tina/Peter

~~  ps Dad died on Friday 4 May 2012. RIP.  Thanks so much for your messages of support x

May 2, 2012 - Posted by | other/ family

13 Comments »

  1. So sorry to hear about your Dad. It is never easy to deal with a family member at the end of their life and yes it is a good time for reflection. It is wonderful your family is coming together for support. Family is very important to everyone.
    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
    Hugs
    Susan

    Comment by susanmiller64 | May 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Many thanks Susan. Hope all is well with you and yours :):)

      Comment by TinaCortina | May 3, 2012 | Reply

  2. There with you through all of this Tina. This is something we know we will have to face one day but it always gets put to the back of our minds, our thoughts concentrating on life itself. Memories come flooding back and the realisation that what once was can no longer be. Tears flow from saddened hearts, tears of sorrow mixed with tears of joy as family and friends come together. There are many things I could say and would like to but the timing is all wrong. Just to say that I am here with you and my thoughts are with you and your kin in these hard times. I will pray for you and hope that you may find solace and peace. May God bless you. Love

    Shirley Anne x

    Comment by Shirley Anne | May 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Shirley Anne, much appreciated 🙂

      Comment by TinaCortina | May 3, 2012 | Reply

  3. Tina, so sorry to read about your Dad. I totally agree with your words and sentiments, and can strongly relate to what you say on a personal basis. Thinking of you… Karry xxxx

    Comment by Karry | May 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Karry,
      Many thanks for your comments. Knowing others are with me does help. He may not have known about Tina, and chances are he would strongly have disapproved, but in many ways we were alike.
      Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | May 7, 2012 | Reply

  4. Sorry Tina, but I can’t help thinking of a snippet of the Holy Grail when the old man, being taken out to the cart insists “I’m not dead yet!”

    Seriously, I would lend you some strength if that was possible. I have not had to deal with the passing of either of my folks yet and so I don’t really know how hard that will be. I’ll probably be a wreck! They live on in our memories though, and you’re so right about it “all going back to our parents”. They make us what we are, and on the whole, I think they have a right to be proud of you.

    P x

    Comment by dimorphism | May 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Penny,

      Yes it is tough. I can’t get out of my head ‘life’s shit and then you die’ but actually I don’t really think like that. I have much to be thankful for and so did he. That you can have 67 years of marriage and support from your wife. 3 kids, 2 grand children and 1 great grand-son, + all asociated in-laws including dear A-M and her family, well that is special and that is not counting the many, many friends and acquanitances he picked up along the way. Everyone has made big efforts to see him in his last days and it has been nice to see the family united in their love and respect. Yes, we all go through it sometime. You just don’t know what it is like till it happens… and long may it continue so.

      Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | May 7, 2012 | Reply

  5. My prayers and thoughts are with you and your family Tina………….Love

    Shirley Anne xxx

    Comment by Shirley Anne | May 8, 2012 | Reply

  6. A beautiful post, thank you for sharing it.
    I wish you strength and best wishes – Emma.

    Comment by emmasouthlondon | July 29, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Emma, Many thanks for popping by and leaving a comment (how did you find me by the way?). The family unit is so important and perhaps the only permanent tie. I have just spent the week, moving my Mum to her new, smaller flat in the centre of town. We scattered my Dad’s ashes and shared many happy memories. Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | July 29, 2012 | Reply

  7. i am sooo sorry to hear about your dad. that was a very nice trubute you wrote.
    i ave been through this with my mom who passed 6 yrs ago and our dads are the same age. so i can relate.

    Comment by Diana | December 4, 2012 | Reply

  8. Hi Tina. It’s been years since we have corresponded. I was thinking of you today and went looking for your blog. I’m so sorry to hear of your father’s passing. I hope you and the family are doing OK.

    Comment by Calie | July 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

