TinaCortina's Blog

Musings of a Tgirl

Nov 2010~Hat’s Off!

It’s been a busy week and for a moment I had to decide on what topic to blog.  But in the end no contest.

My youngest daughter graduated yesterday with a Batchelor of Science Adult Nursing Degree 2nd class honours, division 1 ~ from Bournemouth University.  A hugely proud moment.  The picture above?  The traditional throwing in the air of the graduation caps.  Great fun!

What made it really nice was that we were able to celebrate as a family.  That meant, my Mum & Dad and my father in law, all 84/85 years of age, travelled down the 175 miles to our house, the night before.  The five of us then drove the 70 miles to Bournemouth.

It is the 4th such ceremony my wife and I have been too.  My son graduated in Bristol, maybe 6 years ago.  My eldest daughter had two such ceremonies in Salford, Manchester, the first a degree ceremony, the second for her PGCE teaching qualification.  All wonderful memories.

I guess there is something transitional about such an event.  It is almost an ascent to adulthood.  Through university, you are my child.   You hopefully work hard.  But you also play hard, make friends and grow up.  When you have come through it, they give you recognition of your work in the form of a diploma/certificate, something that will hopefully provide an entry to your first full-time time job.

We don’t really have coming of age ceremonies in this country.  Yes as young adult we may celebrate their 21st birthday and (historically) this was when you got the key to the door, but in many cultures, they do much, much more.  I was moved to ‘google’ ‘rites of passage’ and found this, God help them!

“The Okiek are a tribal people of Kenya. Their rite of passage ceremony is similar for girls and for boys, ages 14 to 16, though the genders are initiated separately. The initiates are first ceremonially circumcised or excised. (ouch!) After this, they live in seclusion from adults of the opposite sex for four to 24 weeks. They paint themselves with white clay and charcoal in order to appear as wild creatures (cemaasiisyek). Certain secret knowledge is imparted by same-sex elders. The most important knowledge concerns the cemaasiit – a mythical beast that haunts the initiates during their time in seclusion. At night its roar can be heard, and the initiation is complete when each youth has seen and held the instrument used for producing the roar and then produced the roar themselves.”

Hmm, well I’m glad we don’t do such things in the UK!

Anyway, back to my story.  I was saying that the graduation ceremony is for me as a parent the time at which I watch my child and release him/ her into Adulthood.  I/we will always be there for them, but this is the moment that they stand on their own two feet.

The ceremony itself at the Bournemouth International Centre was very well organised.  There were two big screens as well as a good view of stage and speakers.  Very colourful, in their gowns, very efficient and each graduate was announced and walked across the stage.  A quick bow to the Dean gave a photo opportunity and the shake of hands another.  There followed a Champagne reception for the hundreds of graduates, lots of photo opportunities.  Perfick!

Photos with the certificate.  Pictures with each of us individually and together.  Lots with her nursing girl friends.  The boyfriend came too.  A lovely meal and then goodbyes all round.  Everyone was so proud and so pleased to be there to share her happiness.  In particular, my mother; she has very limited mobility, has had multiple hip operations, uses two sticks etc.  Came down had to cope with long journeys, stairs at our house, a long time on her feet.  But she had been so looking forward to it.  It is this type of happy event that keeps you going, that makes life worth living.

My daughter successfully interviewed for a job at Lymington Hospital a couple of months ago, but has been waiting that time for her CRB (criminal records bureau) checks.  Typical bureaucratic nonsense as all the checks were in place for her as a student, but all of a sudden you need to go through the whole process again.  Anyway, notwithstanding that, the even better news is that she is starting on a medical ward, full-time, from next Monday, a timely co-incidence.

Long term she wishes to work in the community and I am sure she will make a wonderfully dedicated Community Nurse.  She has a very caring way with the elderly sick or infirm and a calm authority that lends itself to being able to organise but at the same time be treated as a favourite niece, or confidante.  She enjoys the community side as a means to get to know her patients, rather than treating and moving on which you tend to get in hosipital wards.  But that is for the future.

For now, a permanent job.  A nice house to rent.  Living by the sea.  Lots of good friends… and a boyfriend.  And a degree behind her.  Her family behind her.

As parents we were hugely proud; and it was a real feel-good day out ~ one to remember.

If you have been thanks for reading!

November 4, 2010 - Posted by | other/ family | , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Excellent post.

    We have three daughters two of which are in their 3rd years at Uni and our youngest hopes to go this coming September, I echo your sentiments.

    Your comments are also a timely reminder to make the most of your time with your parents, I miss mine.

    All in all a lovely post

    Emma xx

    Comment by Emma Walkey | November 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Emma

      Thanks for coming to my blog!! Yes, we are very lucky to have 3 our of 4 parents. The 4th attended one of our graduations and it was lovely to have all 4 grandparents (when you can get the tickets!).

      You have a lot to look forward to with your own children so I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

      Hugs Tina xx

      Comment by TinaCortina | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hi Tina, you must be feeling very proud of your children and their accomplishments. I suppose you will be feeling your age then? LOL. Both my sons went through university too. I wasn’t invited to my eldest sons graduation ceremony, only his mom. At that time I was two years post-op. I think and I was being left out of many things. I was not even invited to his wedding three years later although I do not think it was he who didn’t want me there. My youngest son never mentioned anything about his graduation ceremony or even if he went to his. In any event I never had the chance to partake in their happy occasions. Things are vastly improved over the last three years in my relationship with my sons and also my ex. with whom I still live. Perhaps they realised how unloving they had been toward me. Full transition can be a very painful experience in the relationship department.

    Shirley Anne xxx

    Comment by Shirley Anne | November 5, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Shirley Anne

      Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry to hear that you missed out on such a joyous occasion. I can understand that it must have been difficult for you but I’m very pleased that you came out the other side!

      Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hello Tina,

    Congratulations for your daughter and for you! Healthcare is one of the most noble task a person can carry out. I know, I chose pharmacy to help others.
    So I welcome your daughter as one of the newest members of the “white-cloaked family”. 😉

    Hugs,
    Sophie

    Comment by sophiataylor | November 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. There have been four graduation ceremonies in our family – a BA, a BSc, and a BSc followed by a PhD. Each one has helped to shape the people we are and each has been very special – not least the first when I got my BA late in life from the Open University and my wife and two young sons were there to cheer.

    Hugs,
    Angie

    Comment by Angela Davis | November 6, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Angie

      I’m pleased you took the trouble to do Open University. I guess like other routes the costs are increasing but I still rate a university education…. and if taken early,it really is the best way to ‘grow up’.

      Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  5. Congratulations to you and your family. What a proud moment in your daughter’s life and you were there to share it.

    Comment by susanmiller64 | November 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Susan

      Yes,,,,sharing those special moments are life’s most important memories in life.

      Thanks for passing by.

      Hugs Tina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  6. Hi Sophie

    I agree. And well done to you to. I’m very pleased that my 3 children chose the caring prefessions despite what their parents did!!

    Hugs Tina x

    Comment by TinaCortina | November 19, 2010 | Reply

  7. Congratulations Tina, such a nice feeling when the kids you instilled with ideas and work ethics gain degrees and things.

    It’s also poignant – chapters in both your lives, closing, and new ones to be navigated. Life is so rich.

    Hugs, Anna x

    Comment by Anna Arendt | November 22, 2010 | Reply

  8. Hi Tina how are you?
    A very very long story cut short, I just wanted to say hi and let you know I have decided to try and blog again and would love to continue to share stuff with you as we did before? If your not too hacked off with me for vanishing over 7 months ago. As I said tis a long story!
    hope you Ok? If you ever want to drop me line I would love to talk to you
    Helen

    Comment by helenchapel | November 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

