TinaCortina's Blog

Musings of a Tgirl

WordPress ~ 6 month review

And finally, onto WordPress ….has anyone noticed the snow flakes?  Well they are a little small and disappointing but I did see the option on the WordPress page that you can have snow on your blog for the month of December, so if you can spot them, let me know!!

And did you know that there was a Rate Me feature on the top of each blog... you rate a blog from 1 star to 5.  Feel free to use this feature honestly.  (If you can’t see it, tell me.  I have been told it doesn’t always show on the top blog, only the 2nd and older blogs, please check this out!!)

I’ve written a blog for 3 or 4 years now, initially with Yahoo360.  As we are drawing to the end of 2009, I feel reasonably settled into WordPress,. It’s about almost 6 months since I’ve been here.  I’m not sure WP have anything like the number of bloggers or views that the other blogging platforms have and if you just type tg or cd as a ‘tag’ you can see how few other blogs there are, but I guess that makes us a close if rather closed community.  I have enjoyed setting up my blog formats the way I want and the contacts I have made, but I must experiment more and I guess if I want more readers I need to write more interesting blogs.

While we write mainly for ourselves, it would be nice to get more readers/ feedback as this is the only way to make the whole thing interactive.  There are a few and you know who you are, but I’ve only had something like 2,750 views, whatever they are, since I’ve written the 12 blogs in the 6 months since I’ve been there. And of course you wonder how many came by accident and didn’t even bother to read any of the blog, let alone a whole blog.  All my old blogs, over 59 of them, spanning those 4 years are here, but I’ve only had maybe 30 comments (aside from my own), in those 12 blogs, and none so far as I am aware on the earlier blogs that came from Y360 – though at least I was able to keep the comments that were made.

All I ask is if you have read this, if you’ve managed to get this far, say Hi and let me know what you think.  I really can stand criticism, so don’t hold back.  If it is that bad, send me a personal email, it is on my front page!

Maybe I should learn from others, that little and often is better than my slightly infrequent longer efforts, but heh that is me, and when I am in the mood for writing, I just like to see where it takes me.

However just for the record, I have just split a longer blog up (Fabuliss and Power Cuts)  into 3 segment parts.  Does this work for you??

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just in case the season’s festivities leave me with nothing to say or no time to say it in the next couple of weeks, may I wish you all a very Merry Christmas to you all, wherever you are.

Hugs

TinaCortina x

December 11, 2009 - Posted by | musings of a tgirl | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 Comments »

  1. Actually, I have not seen the rate me thanks for pointing that out and yes I agree, the snowflakes are too small
    thanks for your post

    Comment by essenceofnone | December 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Tina
    Thanks for this post I found it really interesting. I have never blogged on any other platform. I did blog a year or so ago but it was not as ‘helen’ and I deleted it after about 3 months. I used wordpress then and so it was a natural thing to come back to a familliar setting. I like the stats and the dashboard it is very comprehensive. I wish I could put more of the ‘ad-ons’ on my blog. I tried to read up on that but I think there is a folder you are supposed to put ‘plug-ins’ into but I don’t have folders like that. I don’t have wordpress on my desktop I use everyhting from the net. I think wordpress is good but I would like to do even more.

    As you know my blog is only just over a month old and I was wondering if similar things to you. Are the lovely people I have already met a good portion of the wordpress transgender community or am I missing out on meeting others on blogger etc. Is there anyway other way than leave comments on blogs that a wordpress blog can link to a blogger blog? I notice that blogger platform blogs have the ‘people following this blog pane’ I thought it would be great if there was a simple and quick way of connecting to those?

    I also agree that its so nice to get feedback on your posts. I have always enjoyed your posts very much and could only ask that you post more! Your Great Tina! Great blog!

    As a new blog writer I have also wondered about my visitor stats and views. I have had 812 so far mostly from small community of friends that are on my blogroll. I have no idea what might be possible given the prcentage of CD/TV/Transgender bloggers on wordpress. I would love to share idea’s and suggestions with you and our other friends on wordpress.

    Thank you for this post, I for one found it helpful. I had already discovered the snow and the rating feature not many use it though I would be interested to know why?
    I also use the subscription feature but not sure again if anyone has taken it up? I think it is supposed to notify you by e-mail the moment a new post has been uploaded.

    I gave you a 5 star not just b’cos you did the same to me.
    It was excellent!

    Keep up the great blog Tina
    Hugs x Helen

    Comment by Helen Chapel | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Helen

      Thanks for writing such a well thought out reply.

      Some of the add-ons you can apply seem to depend upon the page format you have chosen. I do quite like the one I have settled into ‘andreas04’ but I believe not all of the widgets work on it.

      I think we need to ask some of our other bloggers what they think of their own platform eg Angie at bloggers.com how things work over there?

      How easy to write? The page formatting? What are the stats like? The ability to link to other friends? The community spirit?

      I just think that there are relatively few bloggers in total at WordPress therefore there must be relaively few tg blogs.

      Interesting you have had 800 visits from a standing start. I am now up to close to 3,000 over 6 months so that is 500 a month at best maybe an average of 18 a day.

      I am not sure but do believe that quantity is the way forward to attract readers. I know some of mine are too long but that is just me. For example I have more comments on this blog than on what I felt might be a more interesting, venture out in public…….

      https://tinacortina.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/fabuliss-power-cuts-and-more/

      Maybe ppl got bored and bever reached the end to comment.

      I do like to see the stats if only because it does help you think you are not just living in a vacuum, but they don’t tell you whether they read the whole of the post and if they don’t comment what they think.

      I’m also not sure if it pays to write blogs quickly as many people will only read the latest blog.

      Interesting that I asked for ratings but when I get a relatively low one without a comment, I think to myself just why did they rate it low…. I’m happy to face postive suggestions and see what I can do to improve things, but if you do not see anything apart form the rating???

      I am all for ‘we girls’ that like to write banding together and helping each other, so thanks for your response and lets have more on this topic…. and see if we can get the help of the girls that don’t use WordPress

      Hugs TinaCortina xx
      https://tinacortina.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/fabuliss-power-cuts-and-more/

      Comment by TinaCortina | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  3. I don’t see the ratings either. Hmmm.

    But Tina, I do enjoy your blogs. I’m subscribed, but the notifications don’t come through email so I find I have to keep checking back here.

    I know in the few months I’ve been blogging as Dianna I’ve averaged more hits per day than I even got in a week on my previous blog. I don’t know my overall stats, though, and admittedly the vast majority of hits come directly from my signature link at the crossdressers.com forums, but I’m pleased with the results.

    Supposedly you can add your blog to blog search engines, but I don’t know that this ever helped me before. That said, crossdressing is a far more interesting topic to most people than anything I talked about before, so maybe we would get more hits. 🙂

    Merry Christmas, Tina! 🙂

    Comment by diannafaithrose | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Annie

    Thanks for the visit. I think the rating on my blog is at the top, so it is possible that you have missed it. Helen I think added hers at the bottom, maybe that is better?

    I have tried to subscribe to other WordPress blogs but I think it an imperfect system. I sometimes seem to get the blogs by email but at other times you or others have posted and I have seen nothing unless I visit your page. You do need to visit pages to write comments which of course is most important.

    On your ‘blogs stats page’ it should tell you how many email subscribers you have…….. I have but 3, yourself, Helen and Anna. Total views should show on the same page.

    I have chosen to include my total no of views on my front page, but you don’t have to.

    I’m not sure about the blog search engines……..I do think tags are important, which is why I do include a variety of definitions of tg, cd, tv, tgirl etc.

    I am happy also if I can to attract a wider (non tg) audience as I believe it important to spread the message, but am keen also to get closer to some other tg bloggers that share my values.

    It would be wonderful to get occasional comments (as one above) from the non tg blog fraternity (sisterhood!!)

    So anyway keep blogging and a Merry Christmas to you too!!

    Hugs

    Tina Cortina xx
    https://tinacortina.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/fabuliss-power-cuts-and-more/

    Comment by TinaCortina | December 15, 2009 | Reply

  5. I saw the snowflakes!

    I have happy memories of Yahoo 360 but reckon I’ve formed more meaningful friendships since moving to bloggerland. Whether it’s WordPress or Blogger doesn’t seem to make much difference.

    We, of course, met on 360 so that must make us ‘old’ friends by now! I’m thrilled that we’ve been able to carry on our friendship here and I always look out for your news.

    So, for me at least, you score 5 starts, if only for longevity 🙂

    Comment by Angie Davis | December 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Whoops! That should have been 5 STARS

      Comment by Angie Davis | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hi Angie,

    Yes happy memories of Y360 and glad we have been able to stick together, I lost a few on the way! Thanks for the visit, you are always welcome! And I guess 5 stars is probably better than 5 starts. I’ve made the rating stand out a bit more now and it seems to be working!

    Hugs Tina xx

    Comment by TinaCortina | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  7. Oh my lord – and I only gave you 4 stars!!!!!!!!!! only because I didn’t want to appear besotted with your lovely blogs – LoL.

    I’ve still got 2 parrallel sites, one linked to Angels – this one – and one linked to Transliving – my Blogger site. Blogger is better. So easy to use, but doesn’t look as good as WordPress. My links there show every ones latest updates – and didn’t seem to need anything special doing – just added you all as links. I don’t know if it does stats. I’ll have a look – maybe – LoL.

    I still can’t get Helen’s site linked in though. I must try harder. LoL. I have a low boredom threshhold with computers and software – if it doesn’t do what I want, I hit the kill buton and go somewhere interesting.

    I liked the split posts – but then when there’s a pause in anyones writings – I just read elsewhere, popping in regularly until a new post appears, or check out my blogger page, which shows every ones latest post titles.

    I adore the bloging scene – and I’ve got loads bookmarked that I haven’t subscribed to. Thats a left over from my shy days, before I started talking to people. Perhaps I should update those, and spread the blogs about. That sounds like a new years resolution.

    Hapy Xmas, AHugs, Anna xx

    Comment by Anna Arendt | December 17, 2009 | Reply

  8. Hi Tina,

    At the moment I am getting yours and Helens blogs sent to my email address as you post them. It looks as though it started this month – so that’s cool.

    The first of our relatives have arrived, having driven through the snow – LoL. Xmas has begun.

    Happy Xmas and hugs, Anna x

    PS, I’ve reread your blog again – and I can’t imagine anyone being bored – infact I ZZZZZZzzzzzz

    Z
    z
    z

    Just teasing xx I’m so naughty – LoL.

    Comment by Anna Arendt | December 22, 2009 | Reply

  9. Hello Tina……

    thank you for your blog…..my situation is similar to yours in various ways…..I look for blogs which reflect ordinary life for people like me, even if they are a bit more ‘out and about’…..I enjoy the trivia which all add together to build a picture of a life.

    The snow does work on the version of your blog that I receive, and will fall to the side where the pointer/screen arrow is.

    Cheers……Vivien

    Comment by vivienbliss | December 23, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Vivien,
      Thank you for dropping by and your comments. Yes, lots of trivia for good or bad!! Do you have a blog? I’ve tried to click on you buit no success.
      Happy New Year
      Hugs
      Tina xx

      Comment by TinaCortina | December 28, 2009 | Reply

  10. Hi Tina!
    Lovely to hear from you as always. I know what you mean about wow! this holday has been great in so many ways but quick? whoosh!!! where did Christmas day and Boxing day go???

    I have been trying to make the most of the holiday time so I have resisted posting but will kick off with a brand new post to start off the new year. I have snatched the odd half hour here and there to keep up with everyone but not done to many comments because I am training myself to ‘stop and relax’ when I am on holiday and work hard when I am back from holiday. Having said that I have missed blogging and can’t wait to get going again.

    I cant wait to hear all about your Christmas and New Year? Do tell soon?

    Anyway I’ll fill you in on mine on 1st Jan from my blog Ok?
    I hope you have a spectacular new Year!

    Enjoy the last days of this year and talk to you properly soon,
    Big Hug
    Helen x

    Comment by Helen Chapel | December 30, 2009 | Reply

  11. Hi Tina. I have been sort of directed here from Helen’s blog dated today, the 1st Jan. I believe I have seen you ‘around’ so to speak on comments to other blogs. I am not certain if you’ve visited mine but I remember the name. I got to blogging almost twelve months ago and was encouraged to use WordPress. I think it is a good platform, especially when I look at other platforms. Your’s is great and I am thinking I will be coming back to read what you have to say. Love

    Shirley Anne xxx

    Comment by Shirley Anne | January 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Shirley Anne
      Sorry I have only just got to see this comment. Snowed in at the moment, so a good opportunity to catch up. Thank you for your comments and welcome to my blog. I usully blog 2 or 3 times a month so an update is overdue, so do come back soon…………. I have been briefly to your own, have not yet commented but will certainly do soo again soon.

      Hugs Tina xx

      Comment by TinaCortina | January 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

