TinaCortina's Blog

Musings of a Tgirl

Fabuliss and power cuts!

Strange evening yesterday (Wednesday 9th December).

I was due to go to the Fabuliss Christmas party and arrived home early to get ready.  I can get ready in an hour if I need to but it is nice to take things at a leisurely pace and enjoy the moment.  Well I was about half way through my make-up, when disaster………..the lights went out!!  They flickered a couple of times in the next 10 minutes but at 6pm and intending to go out soon after 7, the house was in pitch darkness.  My wife was downstairs and asked if I wanted candles!!

When I realised they weren’t coming on anytime quick, I decided to do my nails by candlelight.  And when at 6:45 it was still a blackout I took a candle upstairs and scrabbled around trying to find my jewellery.  It took an age to separate two necklaces and I just couldn’t do the catch up on my bracelet!!   I had to find clothes, finish getting dressed, change content of bag and put together a make-up bag so I could finish off in the car!!

Not the best start to an evening but I managed finish off the eyes and mascara, do my lippy well enough to arrive at Fabuliss a little late and flustered but straight into the ladies to check how I looked.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was late and there only seemed to be a dozen or so which surprised me.  There were 10-12 tables set out (c8 to a table) with food in place in the large function room.   A few more in the bar.  I was starved so after grabbing a g&t, I found Christina (pictured with me above), Sara and Dee (lovesshoes!) and headed for table (one) and started eating all the nibbles.

Early on when the music started 5 or 6 tables had maybe 4 or 5 on each table, and I thought to begin with that numbers were going to be disappointing.   But there was a steady stream of new arrivals and even when the ‘cabaret’ was well through their first session we still had girls arriving.  I don’t know precise numbers but I’m guessing 50-60 eventual paying customers (£20 a head) hopefully covering Linda and Tasha’s costs.

Bear in mind this covers, hall and bar hire, buffet, cabaret, all the decorations, pass the parcel prizes, 3 bunches of flowers presented to Fabuliss helpers, a prize for best dressed (in theme) and other random prizes.

Phil and Rachael were our ‘cabaret’. They opened up with Duffy’s ‘Mercy’ and even though I could tell Rachael had a really good voice and presence, I’d thought to begin with it was going to be like a glorified karaoke as it was Phil on guitar but back up drums/bass/ and voices on tape, with Rachael singing out front.  But that would be to do them an injustice as they cracked out hit after hit, all types of music, took  requests, got the audience going and got us on the dance floor.  The first session was good but the longer second session was excellent and I guess we peaked with 25-30 on the dance floor, while the rest chatted at table, had drinks in the bar or took piccies at the Christmas tree.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Between times there was always something going on.  There were two raffles, although somehow I missed Diane’s charity raffle, so instead I bought 20 tickets for £4 for the main one organised by Linda and Tash.  They always have a dozen or more prizes but I thought I’d missed out after the first 3 or 4 went by.

Well, it ended up being my lucky night and I actually won 3 prizes ~ wahay!  First off,  a nice stripy jumper and scarf.  It might have been a size too big, but I did try it on when I got home and …. maybe I’m not as small as I thought I was.   When, I won again, I tried to wave it away for a re-draw, but Linda insisted and I took a bottle of Pinot Grigio.  A few minutes later I won again and this time picked a tie-back dress of indeterminate size and flighty material.  On the table it didn’t look great, but you never know it may well get an outing sometime, possibly over jeans.  Would you believe I did win again and this time I insisted that they redraw.

I work in statistics and can’t believe my 20 tickets won 4 times.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So a night that had started rather uncertainly got better by the minute……..I took pictures with Christina, had a nice long chat with Kirsty and when we retired to the bar, we had a lovely chat with Angela, the bar/catering manager ~ she really is a gas.

Here’s one of her ideas.  If Fabuliss are to do a float for next years Liphook Carnival, (it didn’t happen this year, but its a definite possible for next) she suggested that we need a theme and that we should do the Virgin Atlantic anniversary adverts – you know the one, Frankie goes to hollywood music, 5 girls in sexy red air hostess uniforms, glorious high heels.  That could be tranny fantastic!!! (Ok, A-M, I’ll only be supporting!).

On the subject of theme, well there was a theme for the nights which was ‘fetish’. To their credit, a dozen or so girls took up the challenge but most including myself kept to a more ‘conservative’ wardrobe.  I’ve always believed that fetish should be kept to the bedroom or the fetish club and those with wobbly bits should definitely stay out of ‘public’ gaze.  As one of the girls said, dressing up is enough of a fetish but each to their own, it certainly makes life interesting!   Give them their due,  some of the girls looked really good in rubber or leather, corsets and hobble dresses and it is amazing what you can do just buying stuff off the rack in High Street stores.

I heard our winner Tanya (our Miss Fabuliss from earlier in the year), bought her winning outfit on the High Street from Primark or New Look or somesuch.  She thoroughly deserved her prize but always looks lovely (bitch, bitch).  Pic deleted by request.

Just before midnight, I was feeling the effects of the heels so decided to leave for my ‘carriage’ before I collapsed.  BUT the evening didn’t quite end there…….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Before the power cut,  I had hoped to take a few pics in a couple of shortish wigs that I’d bought a while back.  I had been trying to replace my ‘short wig’ that I love and have loved for years, but which is now old and wilted……and now seemingly replaced by my lovely longer wig…….anyway, my dear lady wife, whose judgement on these things is impeccable, has decreed that both of these said wigs are too short for me………I’d like to think too short she’s just saying too for a young gal of my age, lol.

Anyway, to make a short story long, as I tend to do………….  oh and by the way did I ever tell you I used to love ‘the Two Ronnie’s’ (UK TV programme of the 80’s, just google or wiki it!!) and in particular Ronnie Corbett’s monologues…….he had this wonderful habit of changing tack mid sentence taking you somewhere entirely different and then in roundabout route returning to the theme…. no then I should really tell you all about it, but I’ll save that for another time……… anyway,  after having a quick chat (debrief) with A-M on my return, I retired downstairs ostensibly to clean up, but thinking maybe a quick chance to try on new clothes won in raffle, and then I remembered that the power cut (which incidentally had lasted 2 and a half hours, which itself should save on the electricity bill!) had stopped me taking the pics earlier. Phew, that was definitely a Ronnie Corbett paragraph!!

Now, without the power cut,  I had hoped that A-M would have been able to take decent pics of every angle, so that I might be able to send them to my blog friend Anna, who might be interested in said wigs.  But armed with my camera and new/ old wigs I took loads of self pics which I can send to Anna to help her choose whether she is interested.  Anyway, that lead to the thought of trying on the new clothes……….then clean up, then cut nails (so that A-M will no longer nag me about it), take pill for back ache and feet (eek the heels!), and then eventually slide upstairs, put clothes away…………and then bliss to bed………and sweet dreams.  It had been a very nice day!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you have been, thanks for reading this far.  Do leave a comment or say Hi!!

Hugs TinaCortina xx

December 10, 2009 - Posted by | fabuliss, musings of a tgirl | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Oh lord – if A-M thinks the wigs are too young for you – then what does that say for me – LoL.

    I’ll be in touch though. I like the one with the dark underlights – (roots LoL)

    Super blog entry.

    Hugs Anna x

    Comment by Anna Arendt | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Anna

    No, sorry if I didn’t make it clear, she is saying just the reverse!! I think we all wear shorter styles when we get older and she is wanting me to put off the evil day. Anyway, stay in touch and thanks for the read through!!

    Hugs

    Tina xx

    Comment by TinaCortina | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. Fetish play can certainly be interesting but I don’t find the thrill lasts as long as simply being ‘Angie’. My wicked aunt Sarah (actually she’s really lovely) once bought me a slave collar to wear when doing housework for her, but last time I was there we both forgot about it and it stayed in the drawer. Nice picture, though 🙂

    Comment by Angie Davis | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi Angie,

    Yes it’s not for me at least not in these type of events but each to their own. We are a mixed crowd and there is plenty of room for individuality.

    Hugs Tina x

    Comment by TinaCortina | December 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. You know what they say, “Lucky in raffles… ” Actually I don’t know how that ends. It’s great to see that you’re having such a nice time.

    I’m not sure how many girls would agree that simply dressing is a fetish, but everyone’s entitled to their opinion.

    Have a great holiday season and happy new year!

    Janie

    Comment by cdjanie | December 18, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hi Janie

    Lucky at cards unlucky in love maybe? I don’t usually win raffles but I’ve won more than one prize twice in the last 6 months. Then again I’ve bought one ticket in the lottery everytime since the start and never won more than tenner!!

    I think girls have a lot of reasons for the dressing and how they like to dress and this would be as many varied anaswers as there are individuals. A lot may depend upon where you are on the tg spectrum, but I’m as happy with those that dress as a hobby, or dress as a fetish as I am with those that dress ‘out of necessity’ or where they just see themselves in the wrong body.

    We’d be a boring lot if we were all the same!!

    Thanks for your visit.

    Hugs Tina xx

    Comment by TinaCortina | December 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

