TinaCortina's Blog

Musings of a Tgirl

14 Aug09 ~ a question of style

090727~Tina at barbara's (10)

It’s a question of taste and style

Do I have any?  Taste in clothes is what I mean.  I guess that as a woman you develop your own taste in clothes, your own defining style from the cradle.  You nurture it every day by selecting what you are going to wear.  As you get older you apply make-up daily, go shopping all the time, buy loads of clothes and accessories and you work out what suits you, what doesn’t.  And you have loads of friends to help out.  Telling you what looks good reinforcing your decisions and helping to shape your opinions.

A lot of trannies operate in a vacuum.  They buy clothes once in a blue moon, wear them only slightly more frequently.  If you are lucky you have a partner that helps.  Someone that offers an honest opinion.  “How do I look my dear?”  And just as important “will you take a photo of me?”

My wife is great in that respect.  She will often take photos, although sometimes she will raise eyebrows as to how many I want.  And she generally offer an honest opinion on what I am wearing, how I am looking ~ more to the point she is usually right.

A great comment last night. “That’s dress doesn’t do you any favours”.

Well I bought it from M&S online a few weeks ago.  I did try it on quickly (removing the tags). It was half price in the sale.  Quite nice light material, spotted, browns and reds, some design around the bodice and in the skirt to around the knee.

I thought just right for Fabuliss 1st birthday party, which was Wednesday just gone.

Anyway it had an inner lining, quite tight with straps.  It was struggle to make sure you got the arms in the right places.  When eventually I succeeded with my wife’s help, she made the comment above.

“Great I thought what else do I have?”  My pink one that I wore on the Boat trip last year? Well I know she doesn’t like that and the bra tends to show.  Well how about the mid length red one with sash that I wore a few times a couple of years ago, or my ‘favourite’ white/lavender one ;  I got both from charity shops a few years ago for a snip and I loved them then.  “No, they don’t hang right.”

Eventually I ‘settled’ for my white trousers and aqua marine t-shirt, and new necklace that A-M bought me for my birthday.  A great outfit but really I had wanted to wear a dress.  And of course one that I hadn’t worn recently.

Later I thought to myself, what have I got that I bought myself, that I am truly happy with?

I have bought nice skirts but struggled to match tops.  I bought some jeans, the odd pair of shoes or boots, a couple of tops.  But my favourite dresses, I have 3 of various style in black and most of my best skirt/ top combos, have come from A-M.  Of course she has made mistakes too. But then she is not trying them on.

A part of it, I think, is that I have moved on and standards change.  There are clothes I wore in my early years that I loved then, but now I just think…….. that doesn’t hang right, that accentuates your shoulders, that makes your feet look large.  I suppose I do have higher standards.  I want to look good.  I want to feel feminine, I want to pass… or at least at least wear clothes that do not draw attention to me when I am out.

But it is hard to develop taste and your own sense of style when you buy so infrequently.  Women often ask “why do you want so many photographs?”  Well at least a part of it is because we are constantly trying to visualise what we look like, what might look good.

Of course I am lucky to have a wife that will buy me clothes and jewellery for birthdays, xmas and the like.  And this year in Manchester at Sparkle, she actually came shopping with me for the first time as Tina.

But the converse, is that unless my wardrobe is to double in size how many mistakes can I afford to develop this sense of style that I want?

Oh well count my blessings.  I do have nice clothes.  I do feel incredibly good and feminine most of the time.  I do have places to go and I can go out freely.  No-one bothers me.  Those that speak with me are generally complimentary or at least cause me no hassle.

This old girl has a few years left in her.  Time a-plenty I hope to develop style.

August 14, 2009 - Posted by | musings of a tgirl | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Tina,

    What a delightful subject for your blog, and I’m one of those infrequent buyers and dressers, and all those problems you mention are so true, LoL. There is another fear I have, the fear of looking like mutton dressed as ham.

    On the subject of photos – A-M has caught you in a very feminine and pretty pose.

    Hugs, Anna x

    Comment by Anna Arendt | August 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi Anna,

    Yes we all worry what we look like. I wonder what we would do without mirrors and cameras!

    This pic was a series that were taken by my friend Barbara when I visited her in Folkestone. Therev are a couple more on my flikr account.

    Thanks for the comment!

    Hugs Tina xx

    Comment by TinaCortina | August 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. …..but I can see why you thought A-m might have taken it! Sorry TC xx

    Comment by TinaCortina | August 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. Isn’t it great to dress up and go out and feel feminine? It feels great and you feel like a woman, which is important. When I work with t-girls, I constantly encourage them to take every opportunity to dress up and to look their best, and I encourage them to dress up often…you’d be surprised at the number of t-girls who are really hesitant to take that extra step because of society or their partners! Thanks so much for sharing your journey with us. I look forward to reading and commenting more. xx

    Comment by The Femininity Coach | August 25, 2009 | Reply

    • My thanks for visiting and sharing your comments. I agree totally with what you are saying and realise how much people such as you can help those make their first steps. I’m in the UK and had my first make-over with Pandoradepledge. She gave me the confidence to take that first step and I shall be grateful evermore.

      Hugs

      TinaCortina x

      Comment by TinaCortina | September 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

