TinaCortina's Blog

Musings of a Tgirl

Friends, Christmas 07 and more outings

It’s been an interesting few weeks, the lead up to Christmas. It is easy to get stressed out with it all, but this year I have found that having Tina around has helped me look forward to Christmas…
I have managed quite a few outings, which have included 1st time ever visits to the Surrey Swans (around 25 very friendly people meeting in a back-bar of a pub, about 15 miles from me)…..and The Bang Bar (what a name!!) in Basingstoke (25 miles) where I have met up with around 15 girls. Both were highly enjoyable evenings where girls come along, a few with partners for conversation and a drink or three……depending on who is driving of course! I am looking forward to going again and making good friends.
I have also had several shopping expeditions, which are all the better because it is Christmas and there are presents to buy!
Shopping is great any time of the year, but I do like to have a point to my outings. It is all very well going out for a day’s shopping but if you aren’t meeting with anyone or buying much then you will soon be feeling those toes rubbing.
But it is the interaction with others that I enjoy ~ even if is just asking at the bar for a glass of wine, or paying for something at the check-outs. It give me purpose, otherwise what am I doing walking up and down the street, trying to be anonymous?
Sometimes, there is one incident in the whole day that makes me feel good.
Last week, I was trying on a pair of boots (there no fun in just looking is there?). A lady approached, mid-forties, smartly dressed and I moved to get out of her way. But no that wasn’t her intention. ‘What size do you take?’ she asks. ‘Size 8, a 42’ I reply.
It seems she was the same size, which surprised me as she wasn’t at all large. Before we know it, we are having a ‘normal conversation’ about shoes and shoe retailers, what we liked and what we didn’t. We found a mirror and dug around looking for more shoes in ‘our size’.
My mind was racing. ‘Don’t you know I’m a tranny?’ was my first thought. Well maybe she did (probably yes), maybe she didn’t, but either way she didn’t care which is all that mattered.
A couple of weeks ago, I met a friend for lunch and included shopping before and after. Last week I visited a different friend for a couple of hours and again managed a visit to the shops before and after.
The shopping is OK, as I say, if you find what you want and even better if you have someone to buy for (including yourself)! I also enjoy the trip there and back as I generally travel a decent distance on these expeditions and both Milton Keynes and Folkestone are about 100 miles away from me and just filling with petrol or popping into a pub alone adds interest to the journey.
But visiting friends or meeting up puts a whole different slant to going out. Of course, what I enjoy most is the conversation. It is that which makes what I do feel normal. It is their acceptance that I am a friend however I am dressed.
So to my wife, my thanks for accepting my friends…
Also for inviting me for a stay-in girly evening a week ago when we snuggled up and watched a DVD. That was lovely.

I do like to be careful about how often I go out. I don’t want to do too much or to think I am taking advantage of my wife’s good nature. To me getting that extra invitation was important as if she’d thought I was doing too much, the last thing she would want was an extra night…and finally a really lovely pre-arranged w/e just gone when we had a lovely night at Pink Punters. I love you.

And to my friends Gina and Barbara

  • My thanks for your acceptance, and your friendship.
  • Barbara, thanks too for the lovely picture under your Christmas tree.

It’s now rather like a Christmas card and included above to send Christmas Wishes, health & happiness to you all.

Love TinaCortina xx
December 17, 2007 - Posted by | musings of a tgirl | , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. A very happy Christmas to you, Tina. Thanks ever so much for your lovely blog entries. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading your adventures; so much so that I feel I almost know you!

    Best wishes for 2008,
    Angie

    Comment by Angie | December 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. Yet another wonderful blog ! ๐Ÿ™‚ hope you have a wonderful family filled christmas !and An even better new year ! ๐Ÿ™‚
    *hug*

    Comment by Anonymous | December 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. Hi Tina,
    I think I’ve managed it at last. Up till now it always seemed to go wobbly on me so I stuck to the message pad.
    Anyway, Have a jolly Christmas and a merry new year.
    Sandra

    Comment by sandra cockswell | December 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

